Laura and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day (or why I want to move to Australia)

Ever had a day where you just wanted to move to Australia? Everything that could go wrong actually did go wrong, and you wanted to ditch your life and move halfway across the world.

If you’ve read the children’s picture book Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day, you know what yesterday was like for me. Alexander is a boy whose day starts with gum in his hair and a yucky breakfast, progresses to shoe-shopping with Mom and siblings and having to buy ugly running shoes, nosedives when his dentist finds a cavity in his tooth, and winds up wishing he could move to Australia. It’s a Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.

Yesterday, I wanted to board a plane to Australia. After all, it’s a good long plane trip there, so my THNGVB Day couldn’t possibly follow me, right? They don’t have bad days there. Just kangaroos and, um, kangaroos. That’s what I know about Australia. Oh, and the Wiggles. The Wiggles are from there. Okay, I know two things about it.

 I don’t have a passport.

 It started with a late start to drop off my daughter at school.

 Then I could barely run four miles at the gym. I felt queasy and wimpy and out of breath at the pitiful pace of ten minute miles. Ugh. Didn’t I used to be able to run eight minute miles?

 My two-year-old had an accident and soaked herself. Twice.

 I got home and was exhausted. Not even a Diet Coke and protein-packed peanut butter bagel could wake me up.

 Tried to work on Novel #2 and realized I needed One Little Fact, which required getting online. We all know what happens when we need to “just get online for one little second.” My One Little Fact turned out to be trickier to find than a kangaroo in Alabama.

 By that time, I needed a nap and my daughter decided she needed to bounce on my bed.

 You get the gist. I wanted to beg, steal or borrow a passport and fly to Australia.

 In the grand scheme of things, it wasn’t a national disaster type of day. It probably wouldn’t even fit in the “Bad Day” category, just the “Frustrated and I Have to Get Out of This House and Go To Target” one.

 So I did.

 I fell into bed and thanked God that the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day was over.

 Then I thanked him for giving me a hubby that put the kiddos to bed so I could go to Target and shop for much-needed clothes. A lot of women don’t. Single moms, military wives, and women without supportive husbands or whose husbands travel or work the night shift don’t have that luxury.

 I thanked him for letting us have money to buy clothes. In this economy, not everyone can do that.

 I thanked him for clothes, period. Not everyone in our world does. Ever been on a missions trip and seen children dressed in rags? Or passed by the people living under a bridge and seen men and women dressed in layers of filthy, torn clothes?

 Then I remembered the people in Nashville, Tennessee, and the surrounding area, trying to get their lives back together after losing everything in the flood this past weekend. Homes destroyed. Lives lost. Downtown Nashville and Franklin submerged in the flood waters until it looked like photos from post-Katrina New Orleans. And I thanked God that we received rain but not floods, had our gutters fill with rain but floors stay dry inside.

 Maybe it wasn’t such a Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day after all.

 I guess I won’t move to Australia and make friends with kangaroos.

8 thoughts on “Laura and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day (or why I want to move to Australia)

  1. My all time favorite book and my kids know it! One of our pediatrician’s rooms has it in there and our whole crew is excited when we get that room because we all know that book is in there. And our sweet pediatrician has sat there and listened to me read it and told me I was obviously a teacher by the way I read it.
    I’m sorry you had a rough day but glad you were able to keep it in perspective! Enjoying reading your writing and look forward to your book!
    Jenny

    Like

    1. Thanks, Jenny. Yesterday and today were a vast improvement over Tuesday. 🙂 Glad you like the book. It’s one of my favorites, too. I remember my mom reading it to me when I was little.

      Like

  2. Hey, no stress, there’s always days like that. I blame Murphy and his law… ; P

    A book that always makes me smile: “Mr.God, this is Anna”

    Like

  3. Great post, Laura. I remember those days of having little ones in the house. Sometimes those days are rough, and sometimes they’re glorious, but you’re a wise woman to be counting your blessings and thinking of people who aren’t so blessed.

    Like

    1. Thanks for reading, Meg. I wish i had thought of counting my blessings first rather than last thing at night! And you’re right about the days being rough or glorious with kids at home; yesterday, I had to write with my two year old leaning against my chest. Another napless day. Oh well.

      Like

    1. Thanks for the good wishes, Richard. Things have drastically improved since my THNGVB Day, thankfully! So I guess I won’t move to Australia after all.

      Like

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

