Twenty questions (what I thought as I watched the news today)

Does deposing a dictator automatically lead to freedom for his people?

Is peace always preferable to war?

Why do people rejoice when someone they hate dies?

Why is it easy to hate another person?

Why must every violent event be recorded and shown to the general public?

Who are the people who want to watch graphic video of someone’s death?

Can political candidates stop yelling at each other? (Is the other person’s hearing really that bad?)

Why do politicians use their mouths more than their ears?

Why can’t newscasters just report the news and not add their point of view?

Why is Lindsay breaking the terms of her parole considered news?

If I broke the terms of my parole would it be on Fox or CNN or MSNBC?

When did criminal trials become media events?

Is there a difference between ripping off thousands with pyramid schemes or a few with identity theft and captivity?

When did we switch from trial-by-jury to trial-by-Twitter?

Whatever happened to that innocent until proven guilty thing?

Why do people base their opinions on guilt vs. innocence upon the suspect’s race or ethnicity?

Does spewing hate online (or off) ever do any good?

Who decides what is news and what isn’t?

Why do I think my opinion is the only one worth hearing?

Why do I hear the news and think, “What does this mean for me?” rather than, “How does this affect other people?”

2 thoughts on “Twenty questions (what I thought as I watched the news today)

  1. will comments on just some…

    “Does deposing a dictator automatically lead to freedom for his people?”

    No. And history shows that violent revolutions hardly ever lead to peace and prosperity. You just have another thugs grasp the rule most of the times. As much as “velvet” revolutions are not always possible (how many countries have done it actually without blood spilled?), it should be something to strive for. Sadly, it was what Libyans tried to do, until pushed too hard. And then it was out of control….

    “Is peace always preferable to war?”

    I think we need to redefine our terminology. Peace is not mere absense of war. Some countries can linger for long time in strange state on brink of war (which is often prevented by presence of “peacekeepers” or by threat of otherds jumping in. Look at Kosova. I don’t call that weird state of things peace although there is not fighting and the borders and other hot parts are on fire only few days a year… it could go wrong very quickly).

    “Why do people rejoice when someone they hate dies?”

    I think it is natural and humane… but is it morally right? I don’t think so. But I guess if I lost my friends and family to because of certain person,I would not be all serene and peaceful about it.

    “Why must every violent event be recorded and shown to the general public?”

    I guess we are fascinated by the morbid side of life. Is there any difference really? Romans had their gladiators.

    But yeah, existence of iPhones exposed our human nature. Now we can film war crimes and tweet them. And I guess over here where it is warm and safe and we never been faced the tough decisions people over there had to face…. we can watch and feel superior about ourselves. It takes mind of our problems too.

    “Why do I hear the news and think, “What does this mean for me?” rather than, “How does this affect other people?””

    because we are selfish. I was plenty mad when we ignored people getting killed in Libya because charlie sheen was more interesting…but the moment oil fields were on fire we were all about how we have to help them to fight for freedom.

    I honestly try not to think that way. Don’t always succeed… but I try.

    Like

    1. Oh, good thoughts on these questions! Amen on the Charlie Sheen-thing. I find myself frustrated with people that think Charlie (or whoever the current “interesting” celebrity is) is more interesting than a truly important story…then (of course, since I can be such a hypocrite) I find myself clicking on a news story to read about Charlie or Kim or whoever.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts!!

      Like

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

