Is he safe? (a quote from C.S. Lewis)

This morning, my pastor referenced this passage from The Chronicles of Narnia. (Let me tell you, it feels great to call someone “my” pastor after a year-and-a-half of church visiting!) In it, the Beavers are telling the children about Aslan:

 “‘Is — is he a man?’ asked Lucy.

‘Aslan a man!’ said Mr. Beaver sternly. ‘Certainly not. I tell you he is the King of the wood and the son of the great Emperor-beyond-the-Sea. Don’t you know who is the King of Beasts? Aslan is a lion — the Lion, the great Lion.’

‘Ooh!’ said Susan, ‘I’d thought he was a man. Is he — quite safe? I shall feel rather nervous about meeting a lion.’

‘That you will, dearie, and no mistake,’ said Mrs. Beaver; ‘if there’s anyone who can appear before Aslan without their knees knocking, their either braver than most or else just silly.’

‘Then he isn’t safe?’ said Lucy.

‘Safe?’ said Mr. Beaver; ‘don’t you hear what Mrs. Beaver tells you? Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe. But he’s good. He’s the King, I tell you.'”

–C. S. Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

7 thoughts on “Is he safe? (a quote from C.S. Lewis)

  1. One of my favorite Narnia passages as well; I find it easier to rest in God’s fierce love than placid pablum favored by many. That goodness and fierceness are not mutually exclusive–took me years to understand. I am glad you are in a good place, Laura–blessings to you and yours this day!

    Like

  2. Laura, my apologies, my nom de guerre came across instead of my name (I use cousin of Eutychus) when I think my story may be recognized by some in my area as I address abuse issues by church leadership). It defaulted to that without my realizing. Thank you for your thoughts–though I do not comment often I love the community you are building here.

    Rick

    Like

    1. No need to apologize, Rick. I like the nom de guerre, and I’m glad you’re enjoying this little online community. That’s exactly what I want my blog to feel like!

      I’m glad you enjoyed this quote. For a long time, I had part of this passage as my signature for my email.

      Like

      1. Eutychus is the NT figure I identify most with; some in my previous church would be highly offended by that, thinking we should identify with a Timothy or Paul. My experience with God and His mirth convinces me that Eutychus is one of His favorites as well.

        Like

  3. This is one of my favorite scenes, and Mrs. Beaver’s response is one of the best lines of the whole Narnia series: “That you will, dearie, and no mistake.” No one who meets Christ does so with anything remotely resembling nonchalance!

    Like

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

