The stereotype I put on myself (a post for stigmama)

Between dealing with the short story contest and Lama Mama work, I haven’t been online as much as I’d like to be for the past week. Next week looks busy, too.

(The fundraiser happens November 8th. The deadline for my Top 20 short story picks is November 6th. The contest received 245 entries. Each entry can be up to 5500 words–approximately 22 pages–and I will read each one. Oh, and my daughter has a soccer tournament next week, too.)

I will reply to comments left on my blog posts, but be patient: my brain can only handle so much! And I miss getting to read all of your posts as well.

Also, I wanted to let you all know that I have an essay published over at Stigmama.com. Here’s the opening: 

Getting diagnosed with a mental illness is a little like putting on glasses when you’re near-sighted. Suddenly, the world zooms into focus: past events defined, current behaviors clarified, the up and down zig-sag of moods explained. A correct diagnosis makes sense; it’s not some arbitrary set of numbers slapped on a medical chart.

For me, it was a new view of the world. Now I viewed the world from the perspective of a bipolar mama-to-be, and that world looked scary.

Stereotypes.

Read the rest here.

8 thoughts on “The stereotype I put on myself (a post for stigmama)

      1. You’re not the only one. I’ve started forgetting common words all the time, mostly when I’m stressed and overwhelmed or trying to talk to someone I don’t know well. I’m sure it makes me sound ditzy. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I like to think of myself as an absent-minded professor type rather than aging or under the influence of a brain disorder and/or psychotropic (and statin) medications that negatively impact memory. My husband also has become more forgetful, so I’m going with age and absent-mindedness due to managing multiple priorities.

        Liked by 1 person

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

