If physical illnesses were treated like mental illnesses.

Unfortunately, the responses in this cartoon are all ones that I and others have had from uninformed people about our mental illnesses. These responses are as unhelpful for the mentally ill person to hear as they are to those with physical illnesses. A better response? “Is there anything I can do to help you right now?” Listen to the response, and do what you reasonably can.

thatlolagirl

10403607_967567159930962_3914641151442002430_n

View original post

4 thoughts on “If physical illnesses were treated like mental illnesses.

  1. I agree with you 1000%, Laura!

    One simple sentence: “Is there anything I can do to help you right now?” – that’s all that’s needed.

    It baffles me to this day that I never heard that offer from people who I thought would be kind enough to say it…..including close relatives who I sadly harbor a lot of resentment towards even though it has been some time since the crises occurred. Forgiveness and compassion are not my strong points. 😦

    Like

    1. I’m not sure that forgiveness and compassion are naturally ANYONE’s strong points. They aren’t mine, at least!

      I’ve been so fortunate with my immediate family’s support. I know a lot of people have families that would rather avoid all mention of mental illness than to address it directly–it’s an “unmentionable-in-public” type of topic to these folks–and even fewer families that handle it with compassion and understanding. Baffling.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Leadership Journal (from Christianity Today) recently had an issue devoted solely to neuroscience and faith, and a couple articles focused on mental health. One had a helpful sidebar that covered the same topic, Laura, but not with the wit, humor and raw gut-punch that the cartoon you linked has.

    Like

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

