Airport parable (a blog post by Jeannie Prinsen)

I first met Jeannie Prinsen on Tim Fall’s blog, and today I’d like to share one of her recent posts. It touched my heart. In the past few years, I’ve lost a loved one around the holiday season: a miscarriage, my grandmother, a childhood friend, a high school classmate who left behind a year old child. So Jeannie’s beautiful thoughts encouraged me. Read the beginning here, then click through to read the rest of her post and leave a comment.

On Sunday, September 28, I arrived at Charlottetown airport at 4:45 a.m. to catch my 6:00 a.m. flight to Montreal.  I had probably slept for no more than fifteen minutes total the previous night:  a combination of flying anxiety, worry about oversleeping through my alarm, and sadness had contributed to my sleeplessness.

I had said goodbye to my mom just a short time before.  Dad and I sat by her bed for a few minutes, and then I had to wake her and tell her I was leaving.  She tried to speak to me, but couldn’t articulate any words.  It didn’t matter.  I will never forget those moments.  I knew this was the last time I would see her on this side of eternity, though I didn’t know that she would die only 18 hours later.

(Continue reading here.)

10 thoughts on “Airport parable (a blog post by Jeannie Prinsen)

    1. Jeannie, you’re welcome. You’ve been through a lot in the past few months (and probably longer than I’ve been following you!) and you’ve allowed God to grow you and make your heart tender; it really shows in your writing.

      Like

    1. Thank you, Dyane – and my sympathies to you, too. It’s a very disorienting feeling to have a parent gone. I’m starting to feel it particularly now around this time of year, all the things I’d be talking to my mom about around Christmas plans etc.

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

