A letter to my readers

Dear Readers,

Tonight we’re going to say goodbye to 2014 and hello to 2015. I’m sure that for some of you, this past year was difficult; your life hit bumps and potholes in the road, spun out of control once or twice, and maybe even crashed headlong into life-changing catastrophes. It left skid marks and cracked windshields on your heart, and you’re celebrating that it’s over. Finally. At last. Throw that calendar into the trash and good riddance. (I burned my calendar on the grill after a particularly rough year! Okay, full disclosure: my mom burned it, and I stood at the window watching, preferring the warmth of the house to the chill of the patio.)

For others, the road was smooth(er). You took the scenic route, enjoyed this stretch of road, and delighted at the pit stops in those itty-bitty one-stop-light towns of happy moments along the way. Tonight, you celebrate the past year, and as you look at the blank pages in the new calendar, you wonder what exciting things will fill the pages.

For both types of readers, I want to say this. Thank you.

Thank you for reading my blog, even when you had other things to handle.

Thank you for allowing me to share parts of my life, my passions, my beliefs with you.

Thank you for letting me come along on parts of your journey, whether bumpy or smooth.

Blogging doesn’t come naturally to me. There have been points when I’ve nearly given up. But you, my readers, have encouraged me with your presence. I hope that you have found encouragement on this page, and maybe some new ideas to consider or questions to ask or a different perspective to change (or challenge) your views.

I respect your views, even when we disagree, and I enjoy hearing from you. Feel free to share your views and correct my spelling, punctuation, and grammar when necessary. (Typos are so embarrassing!)

Please knows how deeply grateful I am for each and every one of you.

God bless you.

Laura

8 thoughts on “A letter to my readers

  1. Laura, thank you for your gift of writing freely given and shared; our best to you and your family in this coming year.

    This last year has been a year of reconsideration for me personally about a subject that may be considered by most an ‘Oh, duh’ subject. How does my humanity express what is true about Jesus to those around me, especially for those I work with (by law, I am forbidden verbal expression of what I believe to be true). In some ways this has been an advantage for me; a rising hope within me to let the expression of humanity that exudes from this bag of bones to accurately reflect the love of Jesus. I have talked too much, I think, in my 59 years here–I am realizing a much higher view of “Common Grace”. What we proclaim as Common Grace in the church is an uncommon, indescribable love from God for the world and its inhabitants. We have the privilige to express it one person at a time.

    Your writing has challenged me to be better, without the inducing of guilt or shame–there is no greater gift we offer each other in this life, is there?

    Again, thanks…

    Like

    1. Rick, thanks for sharing what you’ve learned this year. I love your words: “We have a privilege to express it one person at a time.” Love this! And thank you for the encouraging words about how my blog writing has challenged you. I appreciate all the encouragement I receive!

      Like

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

