Book of the Week: A Call to Action

I think my readers might be interested in this book and the topics it covers. Has anyone read it? Thoughts?

A SISTA'S JOURNEY

A Call to Action: Women, Religion, Violence, and Power

A Call to Action book coverWhy I picked up this book:

President Jimmy Carter is the author of this book, and I watched several of his promotional interviews for its release. He is a fellow Naval Academy graduate and has never been shy about his Christian faith. Due to the content his background and current work, I could hardly wait to read it.

Who Should Read A Call to Action:

This book is an important read about challenges women face all across the world, and the great work being done through The Carter Center to fill gaps and offer solutions where the challenges have gone unmet in 80 countries.

What’s in Store for You:

Through his writing, President Carter briefly shares the abuses against women, some of which result from the misreading of sacred texts like the Bible and Quran. His includes personal stories from…

View original post 836 more words

4 thoughts on “Book of the Week: A Call to Action

  1. I’m so glad you posted this. This is exactly what I need to read right now. I agree with your response to Natasha about abortion. That has been one of my biggest annoyances with how many social issues as well as character issues are handled in some churches. It is not enough to say, “Okay, Jesus accepts you just as you are, now here is how you need to change.” If we really believe people need to change or in the case of abortion, keep the baby, we need to give them the tools they need to get from point A to point B, not just hand them a to do list and then ostracize them when they get discouraged and give up. Oh I could go on and on, but I have to get ready for work.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Denise. I agree; people need the tools for dealing with their life situations. Often times, though, it’s easy for someone (say, myself) who hasn’t been through a particular situation (unplanned pregnancy, divorce, etc.) to overlook the practical and emotional side of the situation. If someone says, “why not just give the baby up for adoption instead of abort?”, I often want to reply, “Try going through a pregnancy, with all the ups and downs and everything, giving birth, and walking away from the hospital without a child in your arms. Then you’ll know what you’re flippantly asking a birth mom to do!” I know I wouldn’t have been mentally stable if I’d been through my pregnancies and placed my child for adoption. I would’ve been crushed.

      Hope you have a good day at work!

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

