What the Book of Job Really Means

My grandfather died last week, and I will be attending his burial this morning. (We’re holding a formal memorial service later, probably in late April, when more family can attend.) So in lieu of posting something of mine, I’m reblogging this post from Tim Fall. As someone who questions God on a semi-regular basis, I found his thoughts on the book of Job refreshing and comforting. I hope you will, too.

Tim's Blog - Just One Train Wreck After Another

I can’t say I know all about the Book of Job, but I think I know a bit about it and here’s one thing I know:

The Book of Job reveals God’s grace.

Some will dispute this, saying the book instead reveals a cruel God who uses Job as a pawn in a game played between God and Satan. Here’s how they might characterize the opening scenes: God asks Satan where he’s been lately, Satan says he’s been out cruising through the world here and there, and God asks if Satan has happened upon Job.

Satan Before the Lord, Corrado Giaquinto (1703–1765) (Wikimedia) Satan Before the Lord,
Corrado Giaquinto (1703–1765)
(Wikimedia)

Then the Lord said to Satan, “Have you considered my servant Job? There is no one on earth like him; he is blameless and upright, a man who fears God and shuns evil.” (Job 1:8.)

Job is described as a man who cared for his…

View original post 686 more words

8 thoughts on “What the Book of Job Really Means

  1. I am praying for you and your family as you mourn your grandfather’s passing, Laura. I hope your family finds comfort in God and each other.

    P.S. Thank you for taking the time to re-blog this too.

    Like

  2. So sorry to hear about your grandfather, Laura. May God comfort you and your family. Yesterday our pastor spoke about the restoration of the walls of Jerusalem in the book of Nehemiah, and how that restoration was impermanent and just a foretaste of the greater day to come when everything will be made new. So your grandfather is experiencing that now.

    Liked by 2 people

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

