Considerably Rumpled in Spirit

I really appreciate Stephanie’s thoughts here on the impact that Gilbert Blythe (and Jonathan Crombie’s portrayal of him) had on her life. Gilbert didn’t ask Anne to change for him; he loved her unconditionally; he was willing to let her go, even though it hurt him, if she did not return his feelings.

Sometimes I think that it’s easy to devalue what actors do as trivial or not relevant to our daily lives. (Christians can be bad about this, I’ve learned.) But J. Crombie’s portrayal of Gilbert inspired young girls and told them that, yes, there are men who will love you and treat you well and respect your dreams and work. It spoke truth to them, a truth that many, many young women need to hear. That is valuable.

10 thoughts on “Considerably Rumpled in Spirit

  1. Love that you reblogged this, Laura.

    I’m sure you suspected I’d chime in after the umpteen L.M. Montgomery-related comments I’ve written on your blog, even when Montgomery didn’t have all that much to do with the topic. πŸ˜‰ I have two little girls sick at home. It’s their 2nd day of missed school. Their Dad has been out of town giving lectures about his book “John J. Montgomery and the Dawn of Aviation in the West”. (*No* relation to Lucy Maud Montgomery, bummer!) and so my comment will brief. I won’t have time to read the complete article until later, but I wanted to pop on here and thank you so much for sharing your invaluable insights, as always! Hope this finds you well!

    Xo Dyane

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks, Laura, for sharing this post, and Stephanie for writing it. I appreciated this reflection on why Gilbert was so worthy of Anne’s affections, and ours.

    I was 21 when the Anne of Green Gables miniseries was first broadcast in 1985. I assume I was living at home at the time, and I think it was one of the only shows, ever, that my entire family sat down to watch together — both nights! My dad was a farmer so he almost never watched evening TV; but this was something we all rearranged our schedules for. Jonathan Crombie was just one example of the perfect casting/acting in this movie. He will definitely be missed.

    Like

    1. That is awesome that your family watched it together! I didn’t watch a huge amount of television during my upbringing (Sesame Street and Mr. Roger’s Neighborhood when I was little; Jeopardy when I was older) but I always made certain to watch Anne of Green Gables miniseries whenever it was shown. I just loved it!

      Like

  3. I am with you, I loved, Anne of Green Gables. Remembering the miniseries makes me smile, but it is so sad that Jonathan Crombie died at such a young age. Thank you for sharing this.

    Like

  4. Laura, I wanted to let you know that you & your blog are mentioned on my May 1st post….in glowing terms, of course! πŸ˜‰ hope you’re doing well!

    Like

  5. It was on your blog that I first heard about Jonathan Crombie’s death a few weeks ago and it so, so saddened me. Anne of Green Gables with he and Megan Fellows (sp?) is my all time favorite move. He did so love Anne unconditionally in the movie and when I read subsequent articles on his passing, everything pointed to the fact that this lovely man was so much like the character he portrayed, which made it even harder for me to take….Having three of the main characters now deceased makes it even harder for me to watch…… So, on to the topic of YOU: How’s the writing going these days????

    Like

    1. It is sad that Jonathan died, isn’t it? But I’m glad that he was so much like Gilbert; it would be awful if he weren’t!

      My writing is going well. I’m close to 78,000 words–my goal is 90,000 or so–and I’m moving forward in the plot. These characters are very decisive in what they will (or won’t) do in my novel. At least, I thought it was my novel. They seem to own it as much as I do, even though I’ve written them into existence. Thanks for asking! How are things with you?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Life is good, Kiddo! I celebrate a big birthday in June and am starting my bocce ball paarties for the Summer this weekend. Glad winter is over. Was a long season of illnesses and am glad to be starting a new season. You keep writing, sweetie. Be well. Soon the kiddies will be under foot and on a break!!! πŸ™‚

        Like

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

