Groucho Marx on the entertainment value of TV

30998c12144a42b08af4c5970474f529

12 thoughts on “Groucho Marx on the entertainment value of TV

    1. I’ve never heard of this show, but I didn’t watch much TV as a child. The title alone sounds like something that has possibility as a metaphor for something. Not sure what! (Did you ever say the secret word and win $50?!)

      Like

      1. Groucho played host and if anyone said the secret word a duck descended from the ceiling and Groucho handed the guest a 50 dollar bill. Big money.

        Like

  1. Reblogged this on multicolouredsmartypants and commented:
    We went away for the weekend and my girls thought it was wonderful because they had access to TV! My husband and I watched a little too but after flicking through 100 channels we both soon remembered the reason we don’t have it in our house. It’s mostly inane, offensive, brainless or lewd, although I do reserve the right to watch a good BBC documentary on occasion. Or Horrible Histories!

    Like

  2. I couldn’t agree more. There are very few television shows that are worth the time to watch them. My husband and I haven’t had cable TV for 20 years, and I don’t think we’ve missed much. Occasionally a major sporting event goes unwatched, but that’s about it. I find it sad that so much time is spent flipping through channels and watching anything that happens to be available.

    Like

    1. My husband and I haven’t had a television since 2001, and we haven’t missed much. There are televisions all over the place, so if we want to watch, say, a major sporting event, we can always go to a restaurant and watch it. My kids watch Jeopardy at my parents’ house, and that’s about it!

      Like

  3. OK, I’m GUILTY! I do watch television! Now, mind you, we got rid of our cable and are currently sporting a roof antennae on our home, but we have Netflix and I’d be lying if I didn’t admit to “binge watching”, on occasions. I SOOO envy your ability not to watch…..my hats off to you, Laura!!! 🙂

    Like

    1. Well, I do watch some television; given how many restaurants have televisions, that every cardio machine at my gym has a television attached, and all that, I’d have to be blind not to watch it. But I find it very distracting to my brain! So probably if I had a television at home, I’d watch it, too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

