What happens when you love to read too much

This quote goes out to all my readers who might be studying for end-of-the-semester exams, although perhaps you’re not too fond of your textbooks.

“She is too fond of books, and it had addled her brain.” – Louisa May Alcott

photo by Grafixar, morguefile.com
photo by Grafixar, morguefile.com

Thanks, Tina, for sharing that one with me! Do you have a great quotations on reading, books, or the value (or dangers!) of reading books? Share it with us in the comments below.

 

8 thoughts on “What happens when you love to read too much

    1. Yeah, it was stressful at my college, too. We went a little crazy, all hyped up on caffeine and stress, and danced “crazy” to the oldies music on someone’s radio. One girl did a “solo” with a microphone broom. 🙂

      Like

  1. This is Catherine from Northanger Abbey, talking to her friend about the romance novel she’s reading: “Oh! I am delighted with the book! I should like to spend my whole life in reading it. I assure you, if it had not been to meet you, I would not have come away from it for all the world.”

    Isn’t that great?: “I should like to spend my whole life in reading it.” Now THAT’s a book!

    Like

  2. Can you read too much?!! I just can’t find the time to read, and I am not sure why. I think you need to rested in your soul to really read something and take it in, and get something from it. It isn’t just our bodies that are so busy, it seems that our minds are going in seven different directions, too.

    Like

    1. I think it’s possible to read too much, particularly if it causes one to “live” in a fantasy realm (such as women who are addicted to reading romance novels) or in such a state of mental abstraction, absorbed in profound thoughts, that they cannot attend to the real world and those around them. I’ve met both types of people, though they’re at the opposite ends of the spectrum.

      But I think you have a valid point about needing to be rested to really absorb what is being said. There are certain types of books I can read while I’m tired (or in carpool line) and those that I can’t. Virginia Woolf, for example, doesn’t mix well with carpool line, though some lighter (or easier-to-read) fiction or nonfiction written for a popular audience (not a scholarly one) can work. At various points in my life, I’ve had a lot more time to read than I do now. As a student, I had to read, of course, though some of the reading material wasn’t of my choosing. When my husband and I got rid of our TV, we found more time to read, too. And when my older daughter was an infant, I had hours to read. (Sometimes I read while feeding her a bottle, though that was risky. Formula spit up on library book pages, yuck.)

      Now I don’t have a lot of time to read. But I still try to make time to settle down in my mind and read; it makes me a better writer to read well-written books. It makes me a lousy housekeeper, though. Why vacuum or dust when there’s a book to be read? 🙂 I have to be careful not to try to read a book while I’m cooking. I’m not sure there’s any book that’s worth burning down the house for.

      Like

What do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

